The new woman in my life

I have a new woman in my life. She tells me what to do; keeps me on the straight and narrow. Her name is Heather. She’s my new GPS!

I am a walking contradiction. I’m a closet gadget girl, who has to go through a period of defiant rebellion before embracing any new form of technology. “I’m not getting one just because everyone else has one, how ridiculous, as if that’s necessary, how over indulgent!”…Really means “I WANT ONE!”

So my latest frontier is the world of GPS and I am totally hooked! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to find my way anywhere without her. Heather has become a dependance. Although I do still often think I know better than her, I am always wrong. Graciously she just draws me a circle and we get back on track. No complaints, no “I told you so”.

She has taken a little getting used to though. Her idea of 100 meters and my idea of 100 meters are two different things entirely.  And “take the second exit from the roundabout” actually means go straight ahead. That was confusing at first.

Currently spilling forth from my handbag is: a mobile phone, a bluetooth headpiece, a dictaphone, an iPod, a GPS and of course I don’t want an iPhone!

Leave a Reply

