Day 10 – Eat, Pray, Love…Who’s writing this?

Julia Roberts in Eat, Pray, Love.
Julia Roberts in Eat, Pray, Love.

New Moon Detox – Day 10

According to my audience I’ve departed from talking about the detox.

So, today I ate:

Breakfast: Rolled oats with chopped dates and oat milk*

Lunch: Hummus and avocado on turkish bread

Dinner: Spicy Lentil Soup

Dessert: Dates and fresh pineapple

*If you’re interested in going vegan or just cutting out dairy then there are quite a few great alternatives to cows milk. Oat milk is delicious, as is rice milk and soy milk.

Now that I’ve spoken about food I’ll talk about what I really wanted to share with you…

At the beginning of writing about his detox I thought all day about what I would write, centered around the detox. Then a few days in I stopped thinking so much and just sat down at the end of the day to write a post with no clue what I was going to write about.

The words just came out. Whatever wanted to come out. As though they were flowing out of me. Almost as though they were coming from somewhere else and not from me.

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of the wonderful novel Eat, Pray, Love gave a fantastic Ted Talk on this subject. In it she shares the radical idea that, instead of the rare person “being” a genius, all of us “have” a genius.

Now let me immediately say “woo-up” – I am in no way claiming myself or my writing as genius. Just that sometimes, when writing is ‘flowing’ it does feel like it comes from somewhere else.

In her talk she puts forth the possibility that genius is not inherent, it’s channelled through us and comes from a “sprite“…She gives an incredible anecdote from poet Ruth Stone who claims that she suddenly feels a poem coming to her and she has to run as fast as she can to pen and paper before she misses it. Sometimes she’s only just in time and catches the poem by the tail end and then writes it backwards!

She also interviewed Tom Waits who tells her of a time driving and being hit by inspiration and telling it to come back when he’s not busy!

Tom Waits
Tom Waits

So, you ask, how the bloody hell does this relate to a detox? Well? I dunno! I’m not writing this!

…Well here’s a theory, perhaps with a system free of alcohol, caffeine, animal products and sugar I’m a little clearer and more ‘in tune’ with my spirits…or maybe no coffee has turned me completely insane!

Cheap jokes aside, watch Elizabeth Gilbert’s Ted Talk. It’s very thought provoking and inspiring.

And consider taking on a detox yourself. It might be just the clearing and commitment you need to get in touch with your sprite!

5 thoughts on “Day 10 – Eat, Pray, Love…Who’s writing this?

  1. Nice post. Your reference to Tom Waits drew me in and now, out of nowhere at all, I find myself contemplating a detox!
    Will be sure to check out the Ted talk.

  2. Thank you so much for posting that Ted with Elizabeth Gilbert! That’s one I think I’ll watch again and again to remind myself to keep going when I’m just not feeling that creative spark inside.

Leave a Reply

