Day 12 – The Finish Line. The Only Thing Missing Is A Cigar!

Cigar Smoking Women
Cigar Smoking Women

New Moon Detox – Day 12

Well here we are at day 12. It feels like a cross between Christmas Eve and the last day of school camp. Christmas Eve because I’m all full of anticipation for dinner tonight and school camp because at the start it’s not enjoyable but by the end you realise you’ve settled into the new groove and then it’s over and time to go home, back to reality. Bitter Sweet.

Sure enough after 12 days I’ve started to form new habits. New ways of eating, thinking, relating to life, myself and others. A quick definition of ‘habits’ are patterns of behavior that become subconscious after a number of repetitions. So healthy eating habits need not be a trial and tribulation. After a few days they become an automatic part of your day.

Coffee habit
Coffee habit

At the start of the detox I lamented the absence of stuff I was cutting out…The morning coffee, accompanied by something sweet. Convenient toast with something quick and easy on top for lunch. A delicious dinner often consisting of meat, cheese, rich, indulgent foods and something sweet for dessert.

These were all habits I formed and in 12 days they were easily changed. The key I found was having easy, delicious alternatives.

If you’d like to try my detox here’s a downloadable PDF with quick alternatives to get you started: Detox Meal Alternatives

Please note that this is just a quick guide to point you in the right direction. There are infinite alternatives and possibilities. The guidelines are: vegan, caffeine-free, alcohol-free, drug-free, sugar-free, no added salt. Organic is best if possible.

A note on gluten

Please note that I did not go gluten-free for this detox, however I did minimise the amount of gluten containing foods as there are lots of know negative health impacts from gluten. (Breads, cereals, pasta etc.) Tim Ferris, popular author of The Four Hour Work Week just posted a very interesting and informative article on this subject. It has alot of great in depth info and a suggested alternative menu if you’d like to go gluten free or suffer from Celic Disease.

The title says it all really. Check it out: How to Keep Feces Out of Your Bloodstream (or Lose 10 Pounds in 14 Days)

At the beginning of the detox it felt like a mission. Like I was in training for a marathon. Something chore-like. Something to resist. Something to approach with an iron will. I was still holding on and controlling.

12 days later I find a lightness of being, a joy in the beautiful raw, flavoursome foods I put into my body. I feel energised, inspired, awake and aware. I feel more creative and productive than I have in a very long time. I feel more…me.

And then there was dinner!

I have to admit it was exciting being in the kitchen with a full arsenal of ingredients at my disposal. I felt like a kid in a toyshop. So much to choose from. What to choose!

Butchers Apron
Butchers Apron

First, donning my blue and white striped butchers apron for some serious cooking! (Stay tuned for an article on kitchen aprons, another of my passions, soon!)

Second, pouring a glass of cool, crisp New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. The first sip was a total ahhhhh moment. The contrast of 12 days with no alcohol and then the appreciation for its re-entry into my life. Contrast is an important, poetic part of life.

Third, the food:

Caprese Salad
Caprese Salad

Entree – Caprese Salad with a beautiful, delicate egg of Mozzarella di Buffala from Cedar Creek Cheeserie in Maleny, plump red tomatos, aromatic basil from my back garden and a little cracked pepper and sea salt. Sublime.

Main – Chicken and Asparagus Risotto made with organic, freerange chicken, organic, locally grown asparagus, Italian parmesan, a splash of the sauv blanc and a little italian parsley from the front garden…Creamy and delicious.

Dessert – Leftover Chocolate Ripple Cake, locally made boysenberry yoghurt and some organic strawberries…Sweet as sin!

Chocolate Afters
Chocolate Afters

Afters – Chocolate…after chocolate…after chocolate.

And then some more wine!

The only thing missing was a Cigar!

After a few days without meat, dairy, alcohol or sugar I over indulged. It was completely lovely and delicious but I woke up this morning feeling a little seedy. My head and tongue felt fuzzy and my body just felt generally sluggish. My body was working to process all the delicious crap I’d put into it.

Tune in to your body and notice the effects different foods and beverages have on you. Would you like to feel more vital, healthy and clear? Then maybe a detox is just the thing!

A few days of good clean living are one thing but taking it on as a lifestyle adjustment, a collection of new healthy habits is something worth smiling about.

Find what’s right for you. Notice how you’re feeling, think about how you’d like to be feeling and then do what you need to do.

For me the detox diet was mostly just enjoyable. I’ll be continuing with alot of it, however I will be adding one, delightful coffee a day, meat once or twice a week, a smattering of dairy and a few sweet treats here and there. I will do so mindfully and with awareness.

All you really need to remember is that your body is a temple.

Happy consuming!

Here are some further useful links if you are interested in making some lasting changes to your diet for the good of you and your life:

And finally if you’ve made it all they way to the end of this post Mr Hiro Shimada will teach you how to smoke a cigar. Just remember everything in moderation. Enjoy! xx

2 thoughts on “Day 12 – The Finish Line. The Only Thing Missing Is A Cigar!

  1. Well, it seems that I’ll have to go in search of Monte Cristo #4’s… Not being a cigar smoker, I found the education made me want to try it…
    Maybe soon….

Leave a Reply

