Bang, Bang, Bang That Head…

Stubborn Frustration
Stubborn Frustration

Today I want to talk about stubborness… And how it doesn’t pay off.

I spent many hours today trying to work out how to use a WordPress theme for a website I’m working on. Bear in mind that I’m a writer not a web developer. I knew in the back of my mind that I should get an expert to set it up for me but I thought “no, should be pretty easy to do it myself”.

I’m reasonably familiar with the WordPress environment but have just installed a new pro theme and it’s a whole new ball game. It was so frustrating. It felt like another language. I referred to the theme forum and I couldn’t understand a word they were saying. Wayyyyy over my head!

But it was familiar enough for me to continue on with my dogged circle work. I had no idea what I was doing, but kept tinkering anyway. And all the while my brain was getting more and more fragmented…enhanced nicely by the all pervasive feeling of a huge to-do list with nothing but wasted hours achieved.

Arghhhhhhhhh…I consciously had to reason myself out of bashing my head against the desk in frustration. Ever get that feeling? It reminds me of something the Dalai Lama said when I attended one of his public conversations recently “the counter point to anger is patience”.

I wanted it now damn it! I can be pretty stubborn and this was a prime example of my stubbornness not paying off. His holiness the DL also said “the opportunity to practice tolerance is given by your enemy”… My mother hates, yes HATES her computer… I should pass on that advice to her too!!

…Reluctantly, after a few more minutes going round in circles, getting nowhere, wasting more time, and becoming even more fragmented I STOPPED.

I did the dishes. I took the washing off the line. I called a friend. I arranged to meet up for a walk along the beach. I turned off my computer.

Driving to meet my friend I still felt fuzzy in the head and in a hurry.

…The minute my feet hit the sand I finally snapped out of it, took a breath and let it all go.

After my three wasted hours, I spent two golden hours with a gorgeous friend in a gorgeous place.

Life is short. Patience is a virtue.

This is Day 11 of a 30 day writing challenge
inspired by Matt Cutts on TED Talks

One thought on “Bang, Bang, Bang That Head…

  1. I completely relate to this Leonie. I often bang my head on brick walls. Trying to do more of what you’re saying here, take a break and do something glorious. Life is too short. We all need to remember that. xxx

Leave a Reply

