Empty Page, Or White On White?

Empty page or white on white?
Empty page or white on white?

I started writing tonight and nothing’s sticking… If I was doing it old-style with a pen and paper rather than typing, I’d have a pile of screwed up pieces of paper around me. I just can’t seem to fix on a topic that I’m content with. Maybe it was the tim tams and wagon wheels today. Too much sugar, now I can’t sit still.

I feel totally uninspired and extremely judgemental of what I’m writing.

I guess on day 14 I’ve hit it… Writer’s block. Almost the hump and I’m stumped.

It’s quite amazing really considering the amount of stuff that happens in a day and the steady stream of thoughts, that I can’t think of anything to write.

I guess sometimes there is a time for silence. Maybe what’s being created here is not words on a page but the words not on the page. Yes that’s it. A case of less is more. I’m stripping it back to a white page. Just like the extreme minimalism of Kazimir Malevich’s White On White.

Enjoy the whiteness, and make of it whatever you like!

White on White - Kazimir Malevich
White on White – Kazimir Malevich

This is Day 13 of my 30 day writing challenge
inspired by Matt Cutts on TED Talks
Leave a Reply

