My Soundtrack Needs Reprogramming

My soundtrack needs replacing
My soundtrack needs reprogramming

Do you get songs stuck in your head?

I have had the same song stuck in my head for the past year. I don’t know how it got there or why out of all the songs I’ve listened to in the past year it decided to take up permanent residence in my brain.

And it’s not even the whole song. Just a couple of verses that go over and over and over… It probably sounds annoying. Not for me. It’s become subliminal. I don’t even realise I’m doing it. But it is apparently very annoying to my nearest and dearest!

So what is the song? I’m sure you’re curious…

Gram Parsons
Gram Parsons

It’s “Sin City” by The Flying Burrito Brothers. Yes I do love Gram Parsons but I don’t listen to him all that much. I don’t understand why this song in particular stuck. Bizarre isn’t it.

Do you have a particular song that gets stuck in your head? I’d love to know what it is… Just imagine if you could turn up the volume of thoughts… How noisy the world would be. But also how melodious. I’m sure a fair swag of thought waves are taken up by tunes…

And ahh… the jingle. What a powerful advertising medium. My brain happens to be wired for jingles too, so these always get stuck in my head. And once again they’re a little obscure. Not Coke or McDonalds and not products I even use. Just cunning little sound bites that attach themselves to my grey matter.

I’m going to give you a glimpse inside my brain… Here’s what’s on the turntable…

“Call, call, carpet call, the experts in the trade”.

“One-three-double-one-double-six-pizza-hut-delivery”.

“You can tell a wella woman by the way she wears her hair. You can tell a wella woman anywhere”.

“Nivea, knows how to treat a lady”.

Not even cool. Carpet, pizza, cheap shampoo and moisturiser. Hmm, the soundtrack scout in my head needs some training.

If I could choose my own emotional soundtrack here’s what I would program:

HAPPY: Just Like Heaven – The Pixies
SILLY: Funky Cold Medina – Run DMC
RELAXED: Clarinet Concerto In A – Mozart
ANGRY: Jesus Built My Hotrod – Ministry
SAD: Plants & Rags – PJ Harvey
ROMANTIC: Hallelujah – Rufus Wainwright
MISUNDERSTOOD: Where Is My Mind – The Pixies
CHILLED: Soul Shake Down Party – Bob Marley
HEARTBROKEN: I Want You – Elvis Costello
REFLECTIVE: Far Away – Martha Wainwright
VINDICTIVE: Happiness Is A Warm Gun – The Beatles
LIKE DANCING: Superstition – Stevie Wonder
LONELY: Desperado – Johnny Cash
PASSIONATE: Overcome – Tricky

(I had grand intentions of embedding all the songs in this list but it’s late, I’m tired… If you’re curious you can search for all these tracks at www.grooveshark.com.)

Lost In Translation
Lost In Translation

…That’s why movies are so engaging and poignant. Each meaningful moment has a well-chosen tune to accentuate the emotion. How incredible is the final scene in Lost In Translation where Scarlett Johannson turns back to Bill Murray and they kiss to the sound of Jesus and Mary Chain’s “Just like honey”. (That was poetry in motion. I couldn’t find any embeddable clips so click-through to watch it.)

I could go on and on about this. So many great songs, so many great movie moments, so many times and emotions in life that would be beautifully enhanced by a great song.

But I won’t. It’s late and I almost skived on my commitment to write every day. It would have been so easy to slip into bed but instead I had someone holding me accountable. (Thanks JK x) …And thank goodness because even if no one else enjoys this post I’ve damn well enjoyed listening to it. 🙂

I really hope to get some comments to this post. I”m so curious to find out what songs get stuck in your head. What movie soundtrack moments have left an impression on you. What your personal soundtrack would be.

Signing off (to the tune of Gram Parsons)… “This earthquake’s gonna leave me in the poor house”…la la la… 

This is Day 13 of my 30 day writing challenge
inspired by Matt Cutts on TED Talks

2 thoughts on “My Soundtrack Needs Reprogramming

  1. A song that’s been trapped in my mind for a few months now is Adele’s Someone like you. A few years ago it seemed like I was constantly singing to myself Alicia Keys’s Fallin.

    I like your emotional soundtrack, I can’t think of any one song for each emotion… it all depends on what kind of happy I am or who I’m angry at.

    my favourite movie soundtrack has to be don’t wanna miss a thing for Armageddon. I get goosebumps when the instrumental version is played in the movie when they’re about to be launched into space. Love it.

  2. I love watching films, then finding the soundtracks, getting new music from the tracks featured on the soundtrack, and then finding more of these new bands, then searching on similar music – no wonder I get distracted on facebook!
    I have different music for different places and stages of my life – Nirvana, Soundgarden and Pearl Jam were living in Vancouver in my early 20’s,when we’d skip down to Seattle for a grunge weekend of opshopping and nightclubbing. Eddie Vedder still has such a beautiful voice…Oh yes, Indigo Girls, Sarah McLachlan, Everything But the Girl – all featured in my collection then, too, well before they made the charts. Now, well, it’s all a bit more upbeat and eclectic- India Arie, Buddha Bar, AfroCelt, Te Vaka, beautiful Hawaiian lullabies, I must be hip because apparently ukeleles are very popular here on the Sunshine Coast, (but I digress). I love positive messages and strong, energetic music now. I have both Twilight Soundtracks – the Score (classical) and also the full on funky soundtrack, good for the gym. That’s a great example of two completely different sounds, same movie – try reading the books and listening to the music before seeing the movie – LIKED THAT!
    Well, looking forward to further discussions! You know I have my ipod in my ears now, too!

Leave a Reply

